How to Seal or Expunge an Arrest in Florida (Part 1 of 3)
Let's talk about how to seal or expunge your record. I'm going to give you a brief overview of the steps involved.
Step One is easy. You've got to get your packet together to send off to FDLE. That packet has several pieces of paper in it.
First of all, it has an application for eligibility. That application needs to be notarized and, if you're going to expunge it, that application needs to be signed by the prosecuting office that wanted to put you in jail to begin with.
Once you get their signature, you're also going to have to get your fingerprints done. Please, do not do this at FedEx Kinkos (for example) - that will blow the whole thing up, FDLE won't accept it. You've got to do it at a police department, sheriff's office.
Finally, you've got to get a copy of your certified disposition. If you don't know what a certified copy of your dispo is, this whole process is going to be long and painful.
But, you're going to take that packet and put right on top of it a $75 check or money order made out to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. Those four things, certified dispo, the fingerprints, check or money order for $75 made out to FDLE, and a notarized application signed in Section B by the prosecutor if its an expunge--take these documents, ship them off to Tallahassee and pat yourself on the back. You did the easy part of this whole process.
Steps two and three can be found in my other videos.